G31M + e5200 newbie OC help

progex

n00b
I have a G31m-ES2L and e5200... I went into the BIOS and changed the voltage to 1.262 and the multiplier to [email protected].

After I save and exit the BIOS, the system attempts to start up, then it shuts off to reboot with the default factory voltage and clock speeds @ 2.5Ghz.

This is my first time OCing, so I must not be doing something right. Any help (BIOS screenshots or a list of settings would be sweet)?

Thanks.

Up your vcore and see if it is more stable. 1.262 might be too low.

Not too high though. You don't wanna fry your chip.

Also, what is your ram set to. (Freqency and Timings)

Make sure you are adjusting the memory settings as well. Default FSB is 200 for this chip and your RAM will be running at 400mhz (ddr2-800), aka a 2:1 ratio.

Your default front side bus to ram speed ratios are:

Ratio.......RAM......DDR2
1:1..........200........400 (ddr2 go this slow? so might not have this?)
1.33:1......266........533
2:1 ..........400........800

When you up the FSB to 280, you are stuck with the same ratios:
1:1..........280........560
1.33:1......372........744
2:1 ..........560........1120

If you are using DDR2-800 RAM, you need to drop your ratios down near 1:1 or 1.33:1 so you don't exceed your RAM speed by too much. It's unlikely that your RAM will do DDR2-934 speeds without a lot of voltage added to the RAM, and it's unlikely you'll do DDR2-1120 with any RAM (short of super expensive, made for uber-overclocking RAM)

I don't have my G31 board running right now to check if there are other RAM speed ratios available - as I recall, they are a little limited. It is a very good overclocking mATX board for the price, though. When I had my e7200, I ran it at 3.8ghz all day in that board. Overclocks a Q6600 to 3.3ghz without too much work as well.