ThinkPad really worth it?

McGee

Limp Gawd
I'm a college student and have had my eyes on a T60p for awhile. I got my hands on an EPP, so I can get an (almost fully loaded) one for around $2k. I was just talking to someone who works for a laptop review site and he said I'd be better off going with something like the Asus W3J or a different company, claiming that the ThinkPads were not worth the extra price I would be paying. I think it is, though, for the outstanding quality (i.e. built like a tank) and other features (keyboard LED, nice screen, fingerprint scanner, etc.).

What do you think? Is it worth it? My parents are buying it for me and I don't want them to waste their money.

Yes, the Thinkpads are worth the premium. They're about the sturdiest unit around, use high quality components, and offer great support. I refurb laptops for a living, and Thinkpads are hands down the best in my experience, especially the Txx series.

If you don't mind the loss in gaming capability due to not using high-end cards, then yes they're worth it.

I won't buy anything but a Thinkpad for my primary portable. I've done it in the past, and each time I came back to a Thinkpad.

Fair warning on the -P models though, OpenGL games are hit and miss with them, and more often than not, they're miss.

Generaluser45 said:
If you don't mind the loss in gaming capability due to not using high-end cards, then yes they're worth it.

I won't buy anything but a Thinkpad for my primary portable. I've done it in the past, and each time I came back to a Thinkpad.

Fair warning on the -P models though, OpenGL games are hit and miss with them, and more often than not, they're miss.
Thanks for the warning, I'm thinking about going with the X1400 and playing older games (roms, warcraft 3, etc.) and maybe newer games on low settings. It's going to be a T60