SonOfMore's Quiet Computing/Gaming Rig

SonOfMore

Limp Gawd
Ok here goes,

This will be the second computer I've built from the ground on up. You couldn't say I'm a pro at it, but after doing the first, hopefully it should be a bit easier. None the less, there's a special satisfaction of building your own machine to spec and powering it on for the first time. Yes, we're geeks and proud of it! :D

This project is already in progress so I can't say that is something that was started with this forum post. Be that as it may, I'll try and fill in the details of the progress of the operation and update it with pictures regularly.

I use my computers for schoolwork, gaming, a little web development and video playback/editing. Recently Intel dropped the price of their Q6600 so I've finally been tempted to upgrade.

If you have any suggestions as to how make this build work out better, please by all means pipe up! I'll admit that half the time I don't know what I'm doing until I've broken or tried something a dozen different ways. Your feedback is most welcome and strongly encouraged. Don't be afraid to take this noobie to task if you think something needs amendments. :)

My previous system which is now looking a bit long in the tooth is a:

Athlon XP 2500 (OC'ed to a 3000 spec)
1.5 gigs of slow-poke DDR ram
ATI Raedon 9700 (best of show when it came out, but we all age)

The new system is as follows:
  • GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
  • Antec Solution Series SLK3700AMB Case
  • AcoustiPack Sound Damping System (fit to spec for the case mentioned above
  • Windows Vista 64-bit
  • Intel Q6600 CPU w/G0 stepping
  • Sticks of 2gig PAT DII800 PDC24G6400ELK RAM
  • MSI 8800GTS-640mb version, OC'ed from vendor
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX 620W Power Supply
  • Scythe Ninja Rev B Heatsink/fan
  • 2 Yate Loon 120mm fans
  • 3 Noctua 120mm fans
  • 2 (two) 74gb - 7200 RPM Hardrives from IBM SATA 1.5
  • 1 160 Seagate - 7200 RPM Hardrive IDE