Ugrading home network - 24port Procurve? Other options?

najames

Weaksauce
I am spending some money and upgrading a lot of stuff in my home network. I do a lot of "testing" of Linux and various hardware, sometimes connect to work equipment. At work I am a SAS programmer and work on a Solaris Sunfire V440, IBM Mainframe (thankfully not much now since I migrated our systems to Solaris 2 years ago), and PC. Unfortunately, I DON'T get into networking and am NOT real knolwedgable beyond the basics. I have certainly never done VLANs or trunking, etc.

I've been doing a LOT of Linux network/NIC testing at home, and am seeing some issues on what has been a very stable system to date. I would like to be able to max out transfer speed to match hard drive speed on my server (will be using WD 640GB drives which do average 90MBps) so I'd like to get at over 60MBps LAN throuput. Its time to upgrade some components. Unless some really fast wireless is available, I'll wire the house for Gigabit LAN & Media sharing soon.

I have many different NIC cards and several transfer protocols. Cards used include Intel Pro 1000 PCI-e x1 (excellent card), PCI Pro 1000, several Realtek onboard, Realtek PCI, Marvell onboard, Broadcom onboard. All are gigabit, although some will not do frames beyond 7K, but very limited testing has shown jumbo frames has not made any faster transfers so far. Transfer speeds have been 9MBps max using Linux Nautilus (hence the testing), about 29MBps average using smbget commands, about 43MBps average using PureFTP on the "server" and FileZilla on clients. These are maximum averages seen so far.

Current network setup:

Netopia DSL modem -> WRT54G wireless router -> SMC 8500T 5port switch -> 7 PCs/Servers
|_ 2 laptops, Brother 5250DN network printer, VoicePulse VOIP

Sorry it doesn't display right, the laptops, printer and VOIP are all off the 10/100 ports on the router.