Do I need a Intel case with 45nm?

Cally

Limp Gawd
As cool as the 45 nm chips (Wolfdale) run do I need to have a intel compliant case for a new build? I currently have a Antec Sonata case which is 3 years old. It is quiet, has all the room I need so do I have to buy a new one?

As cool as the 45 nm chips (Wolfdale) run do I need to have a intel compliant case for a new build? I currently have a Antec Sonata case which is 3 years old. It is quiet, has all the room I need so do I have to buy a new one?

No, if your case can accomodate the motherboard you select, you'll be fine.

The local shop I went to told me they couldn't build me a new system using the old case because I was going from AMD to Intel. I am no expert but it just didn't sound right to me.

Lol, their trying to hustle some money from you, If your amd motherboard is the same size as the intel motherboard your getting you should be fine with that case.

Lol, their trying to hustle some money from you, If your amd motherboard is the same form factor as the intel motherboard your getting you should be fine with that case.

+1 and fixed (a wee bit)

{edit}

Name of shop so that potentially, we don't waste our time with them?

The local shop I went to told me they couldn't build me a new system using the old case because I was going from AMD to Intel. I am no expert but it just didn't sound right to me.

The only reason to change the case is when you are changing case format. Current standards are ATX (majority of cases) and BTX (very small minority). There was a older standard called AT, which had different PSU position and less connectors in AT PSU specification.

So the only reason to change case is when you change from AT to ATX. Antec Sonata is a ATX case, so no need to change anything.

I think in the Pentium 4 days, Intel has requirements about side vents over the CPU cooler.

I've never heard of an Intel compliant case.
AMD use BTX also.