How To Make Strong, Easy-To-Remember Passwords

HardOCP News

[H] News
I know most of you are capable of coming up with a strong password that you won’t forget but, in case you need help (or want to pass this on to a family member), here is an article that can be helpful. I guess it is time to upgrade that 123456 password I use for everything.

One way to create a password that's hard to guess but easy to remember is to make up a phrase. You could type in the entire phrase (some sites let you use spaces, others don't) or you can use the initials of each word in the phrase, for instance, "IgfLESi85" for "I graduated from Lincoln Elementary School in '85." An even better one would be "MbfihswE&S" for "My best friends in high school were Eric and Steve." You get the idea--upper case numbers, letters, and symbols that are seemingly meaningless to everyone but you.

I just use KeePass and sync it with DropBox. :) Good article though. I think I tried the phrase once but forgot the exact wording of it...so fail :(

For passwords that I atleast attempt to remember, I like diceware passwords. For the storing of my passwords I use password safe and use the random password generator for my less frequently used passwords that I don't feel like remembering.

As for the article, I find it really lacking. Both of the password storage programs listed were closed source commercial offerings. It really isn't a good idea to trust encryption software that is not open source.

I just use KeePass and sync it with DropBox. :) Good article though. I think I tried the phrase once but forgot the exact wording of it...so fail :(

How are you doing this? When I create the *.kdbx and *.key files with KeePass running on one machine, then try to open them with KeePass running on another machine I get this error:

8qrourc54vsnngsmnlm.png

Obviously I am using the same password and specifying the same *.key file...