The $3.50 case cleanup.

MikeP

Gawd
Yeah my case was a mess. Ive been Ocing for many years and have never given a second thought to how it all looks until I started seeing the cool work being done in the threads here so I decided to clean my gaming rig case up. I set a huge budget of $3.50 and 4 hours to get it done and managed to have change to spare.

Rig is:

Raidmax scorpio case
Abit NF7-S 2.0 mobo
AMD 2500+ @ 200x11
Zalman CNPS7000-c Heatsink, modified to fit.
512 OCZ DDR400 matched pair 2x256
Saphire Radeon 9800 Pro

Heres the before shots:
resizedjpg1.JPG

After I took the side panel off I got so scared I couldnt hold the camera steady.
resizedjpg2.JPG

Heres everything I used to get it done. Red 3M electrical tape $0.85 per roll (only used less than 1 roll so far). Some red zip ties ( part of a large package of diff coloured ties) aprox $0.50. From Home depot. Prices in Canadian Dollars.
resizedjpg3.JPG

Next u always want someone to help out in case things go to hell. My wingmans number 16 Trevor Linden, Vancouver Canucks all-time points leader.
resizedjpg4.JPG

I spent quite a while carefully slicing the ribbons so they could be wrapped nice and tight. Monday Night football is perfect for this slow and boring process.
resizedjpg5.JPG

Heres the power supply after wrapping..looks kinda like arteries poking outta the PS.
resizedjpg6.JPG

Heres the results so far. This is fully functional at this point and how Im using it to do this post. Still need to wrap up the 2 rear case fan leads and move em up behind the PS. Dont know what im gonna do about the Zalman fan controller black box hanging there. Ill post a final pic tomorrow when its finished and all back together.

Sure is a much nicer look for a couple bucks and a few hours of time.

resizedjpg7.JPG

Think I might actually start doing some real modding next..These forums are giving me lots of ideas. ideas.