Better Airflow Mod *PICS*

Lee Enfield

Limp Gawd
I found this mod on a different forum, but it was such a great mod and reduced temps pretty well too that I'd though I'd share it with you. It was posted by Booradley on the Maximum PC Forums. Here it is in its entirety.

Hi all

These are a couple mods I did a while ago before I went to watercooling. As an MRL member I figure I should be producing something for the group

There are two parts to this mod. Part one, shows how to easily mount a 120mm fan inside your case. Part 2, shows how to mod your drive bay covers. I guess both mods can be done individually, but they work best when done together. This may take a while, so bare with me

Part 1
As you will see I have a CM Wavemaster case. Owners of this case will know that they have some problems with air flow resulting in some pretty high temps. This was my successful attempt at increasing the airflow.

What you'll need:
-1 120mm fan
-double sided tape (more proof for Chumly that double sided tape works)

The idea is to tape the top part of the fan to the bottom of an optical drive and the back of the fan to your hard drive wrack.

1.JPG

2.JPG

The end result will look something like this

3.JPG

4.JPG

Depending on the size of your case and it's configuration, you should have no problems fitting the fan in. I was able to get my hands on a UV reactive fan, so I think it ended up being functional and fabulous

Part 2
This is the more difficult part. You'll need to dremel out the core of your front bay cover and then glue some kind of mesh in its place. You'll want to match up your materials for the best look. ie. aliminum drive bay cover and steel mesh, or plastic to plastic etc.

What you'll need
-a dremel
-masking tape (the tape just covers the bay cover so you don't scratch it up while dremeling)
-mesh (steel or palstic)
-glue (I used crazy glue)
-heavey duty scisors (only if you're using steel mesh)