Anyone ever tried a component to VGA adapter?

congrats on aproaching the console on a monitor idea in the proper way. I have no first hand experience with that model, but the reviews on lik-sang are good. A transcoder is the way to go for sure. I say give it a shot and let us know. I would love to toss one of those inline iwth a few of my devices.

i concur, i've seen a decent amount of good feedback about the lik-sang as well.

People have even ripped them apart and tweaked their colors to near perfection (@ lumenlab but it didn't seem easy to mod(?).

i have the vdz3 http://www.vdigi.com/

works great, though all these boxes cannot do 480i, which means anything non progressive scan wont show very well. So your xbox dashboard isnt gonna really show at all, will be distorted and you might be able to make out what your doing, also means the gt4 menus wont be clear, anything other part other than the driving itself will look distored.

I just gave up and got the 2405, but vdigi is great too.

there is a series of keypresses that will convert the dashboard to 480p. I got tired of the screen flickering going into a game and did some web searching. it is something like pressing down on the joysticks in a sequence.

found it...

How to see the Xbox Dashboard on your high definition TV

With the latest update to the Xbox Dashboard available from Xbox Live, you can change the default display mode of the Xbox Dashboard from 480i to 480p. Connect your console to the component inputs of a 480p-capable TV using an Xbox High Definition AV Pack to view the Xbox Dashboard in high definition.

To get the latest Xbox Dashboard

Connect your Xbox to Xbox Live. When you do so, the latest version of Xbox Live, including the Xbox Dashboard is automatically downloaded. If you don't have an Xbox Live account, get one!
To set the Xbox Dashboard to 480p

Connect your Xbox console to the component inputs of a TV that supports 480p with an Xbox High Definition AV Pack.