Antivirus ratings

eeyrjmr

[H]ardness Supreme
I got hacked off wirh Norton so I uninstalled and tried the demo of NOD32, 3days later bought a year licence for it (and prolly stick with it from now on)

AT work our computer network and machines have ground to a halt cause Norton-corporate (cant remember the exact command that was hogging the resource).

It has been like that for 2days!!! and IT cannot stop the scanning.
I am an engineer and I have just been working in the lab and only found out abt it late yesterday when one of our simulators came to me asking what this process is that is hogging his CPU

Now IT are gonna fix it, but I would like to recomend NOD32 to onsite-IT as well as some mates.

I ahve mentioned it to my mates but they are stickin with what they know (Norton) any independent reviews out there?

do a search for antivirus ratings on the forum -- there's an independant website that reviews a few (AVG, Norton, Kapersky, Nod32....)

good luck. Ice Czar can probably tell you the site off the top of his head

In an IT environment, Norton still has one of the 'better' management interfaces, but the last few releases are dipping in quality...a LOT. Nod32 is good, so is Kapersky. What you want to look for is a review of the corporate editions.

Here you have it.

http://www.wilders.org/anti_viruses.htm

At the link, you will see another link to The Virus Bulletin, an independent virus scan testing organization. They last tested scanners in June of 2005. At that time NOD32 beat all comers, including the highly rated Kaspersky, and also the resource hog, that "Sin Against God" Symantec.

Shane said:
Try out AVG antivirus its my fav and free :)
Maybe it is a favorite, but it sucks. AVG passed, but overall it was nowhere close to the top contenders. It had nine passes, in contrast to NOD32's thirty-two passes. This was the paid version of AVG mind you, not the no-frills freeware version.