is it okay to run CPU without heatsink/fan?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doufer

n00b
the socket 940 fan i ordered hasnt arrived here yet and i need to know if my cpu is working before 14 days DOA. Is it okay to boot up the computer and go to BIOS to see if my cpu is working and then shut down my computer fast as possible?

i think my BIOS would shut the computer itself if it detect a cpu without fan/heatsink.

Doufer said:
i think my BIOS would shut the computer itself if it detect a cpu without fan/heatsink.
yea i think thats true too...i think ive read that P4s can throttle enough so you can do that, but A64s just pop...i could be wrong though

Doufer said:
the socket 940 fan i ordered hasnt arrived here yet and i need to know if my cpu is working before 14 days DOA. Is it okay to boot up the computer and go to BIOS to see if my cpu is working and then shut down my computer fast as possible?

I'm no expert but I would say no. Last cpu I ran without an hsf was a slot 1 P3 550 and even that didnt go too well. I say go to your local pc shop and buy a cheap hsf then return or keep it as a back up.

find a metal cup with a flat bottom
put ice water inside
boot up.

i own a hyper 6+ HSF and its wonderful...they even talk of running it without a fan if looking for no noise. I ran mine fine and even played some games...

temps were in the high 50's under load but if you ever looked at this HS, you'll see why it still maintains good temps. So the answer to your question is in the quality and size of the HS u are using.

I do run a small 80mm fan on it since I game often and piece of mind.

oh no!!!!!!! i powered my computer and everything was running for like 5 secs and then all of sudden got shut down. Now i can't boot my computer anymore and the green light is still glowing on my mobo. :( :( :( :(

PS mine is opteron 242