26 or 27" for Gaming?

Deeky

Gawd
What would y'all recommend? I'm in the market for a 16:10 monitor for gaming and everyday use (web, word processing, etc). Of course I'd prefer that colors be accurate but I'm not expecting a TN panel miracle. I realize IPS and *VA provide better IQ, but I'd prefer a pure gaming display, bigger the better. 120hz is all good, but I'm not crazy about the limited resolution. $500 or less. Any suggestions?

I'm pretty sure the 26" are all 1920x1200 or 1920x1080 while some of the 27" are 2560x1440. Right?

Could be, though I swear I've seen 27" disaplys with 1920x1080. The ASUS 120hz for instance. Basically, I'm happy with anything 1920x1200 or higher. Not interested in 1920x1080.

Certainly. I have no experience with16:9 tbh, but I'm moving from a 24" IPS display not suitable for gaming. I guess the thought of reduced image quality AND resolution is hard to swallow. However, I'm willing to sacrifice and inch of real estate if it means better overall IQ.

Certainly. I have no experience with16:9 tbh, but I'm moving from a 24" IPS display not suitable for gaming. I guess the thought of reduced image quality AND resolution is hard to swallow. However, I'm willing to sacrifice and inch of real estate if it means better overall IQ.

Pretty much any TN is going to be a large improvement other then viewing angles over an older IPS display as the better TN's easily double the contrast ratio of IPS displays, come with accurate colors presets and have better response times then the pre 2009 IPS panels.

Veiwing angles probably won't matter with a 27" display as those are meant to fill your field of view, unless you are one of those people who like to sit 45 degrees off angle and complain (I hope not).

Veiwing angles probably won't matter with a 27" display as those are meant to fill your field of view, unless you are one of those people who like to sit 45 degrees off angle and complain (I hope not).