~$2800.00 to spend on camera+lens

CJRP

Limp Gawd
What would you recommend?

I am new to photography, I have a freshly built workstation with Photoshop CS5 and am extremely eager to learn. I've already spent quite a bit of time studying techniques and terminology but it is time to actually take some photos. I know nothing will help me learn faster than that.

I was thinking of buying a Canon EOS 7D and an additional lens. I am not sure what lens to choose.

I will be using the camera to shoot a wide variety of things. Portraits, objects (in a room with controlled lighting as well as outside), landscape, macro, etc.

Any recommendations or good places to start? Should I start with a lesser camera? I definitely do not want to feel the need to upgrade a month later. My friends who are into photography have Canons as well and said I could borrow lenses.

So, what would you do?

Thanks!

With friends willing to rent you their Canon lenses, I recommend getting a Canon camera ;)

With that out of the way... there's a certain reasoning for getting a "lesser" camera with better lens (primarily because a good lens outlasts any camera body), but getting a nice set of glass is also very costly, and can take years to acquire all the little pieces. As you probably already know, this hobby isn't cheap, but $2800 is an excellent budget to play with. Certainly a lot bigger than most people usually start with.

The camera body choice will depend on the lenses (and quantity) you want to buy right away. If you only want to start with just a single lens, then the 7D will be an excellent choice. Otherwise, a 60D or 3ti will work just as well. I'm not that familiar with the Canon side, so perhaps other [H] members can pin point a better option here. Also, ask your friends, and see what they have to say.