650w Seasonic FOCUS Gold enough for a 1080 and a 780 in the same rig?

NoxTek

The Geek Redneck
Hello folks!

I recently picked up a cheap GTX 780 FE just.... because it was cheap. Originally I bought it for the extra PC in the family room, but now I'm seriously considering shoving it in my PC alongside my Asus Strix 1080. Obviously not for SLI, but I'm told that I can happily place two different Geforce cards in my machine for increased horsepower for CUDA-centric use like video rendering. Now that Vegas has NVENC support that really works, I was thinking the CUDA cores in that extra 780 could really come in handy for reducing my video rendering times and speed things along in my burgeoning Youtube video making hobby.

So I'm wondering if my new Seasonic FOCUS Gold 650w PSU could handle the stress of the system with both the 1080 and 780 chugging away at video rendering. Now I've been doing this stuff for 25+ years and my spidey sense says "Yes, Jason, the Seasonic is a solid unit and should be up to the task, although it would be a close shave." but sometimes it's nice to get opinions from your peers. :)

The other full system specs are in my sig, but I'll round them out here anyway:

Intel Core i7-7700k on a Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
2x16GB G'Skill Ripjaws DDR4 3600
2x Samsung 512GB 850 EVO SSDs
1x 2TB Seagate 7200rpm spinner
1x 3TB Seagate 7200rpm spinner
Tt Riing Floe 240 Closed Loop Cooler on the CPU

It will eek by if you keep everything at stock. The 780 is a 250 watt card, and the 1080 is a 200 watt card, approximately. Throw in the rest of your system, which is around 150-200 watts, and you're sitting right at 600-650 watts. Of course, your workload shouldn't peg the CPU at 100% full time, so your actual power usage would likely be less than that.

I really need to invest in a Kill-a-watt meter one of these days...