8800GTX Heat!

maximus1284

Limp Gawd
rivatuner is reporting my core temp at 83C and my ambient temp at 68C. my PC is idle. I think the core temp is my GPU temp. I'm a noob with these programs, but how can I increase the speed of my fans, specifically my GPU fan? what about other options, such as after market cooling?

whats weird is my 8800 GTX is seated at the bottom of my case, and heat literally builds there and stays there. I have tons of air cooling, 1 front intake, 2 back exhaust, 1 top exhaust, 1 side intake, a tuniq tower, and the stock mobo and gpu fans, and yet I can't get that heat moving out of there even after lots of cable management.

Two things you can do. Install Rivatunner 2.01 and increase the fan speed. Next buy a blower type exhaust fan. A lot of hot air leaks out of the the slits at the front of the card. The stock heatsink is very effect, just need to up the fan speed and add that blower fan.

Ambient 68°C? Where you livin', the desert?

Seriously, that's pretty high, 154°F. I'd say you have some serious problems with airflow dynamics. Maybe add another high powered intake or drop one of the exhausts. The 80 series cooling layout is designed to blow air out of your case anyway, maybe you're exhausting what little cool air your one intake fan is able to bring into the case.

If your average room temp is between 70-75°F then the main goal is to pull some of that cool air into the case, more so then exhaust hot air out of th case.

hah, well I'm not sure what the ambient temp refers to, but thats what it said in rivatuner 2.01. I imagine it refers to another sensor somewhere inside the case