AGP/PCI Lock

obyj34

Gawd
AMD newbie here, but I'm thinking about making a switch to the A64. From what I read overclocking an A64 is rather limited and that AGP/PCI mhz can limit total overclock (though you can't directly compare AMD to Intel in terms of mhz), so my question is, are there any boards with solid AGP/PCI locks?

None that I know of at the moment. Supposedly the new, yet to hit retail channels, nForce3-250 series has working locks but I haven't seen any boards with them yet. On the VIA front, the K8-800 "Pro" chipset supposedly also has working locks but I haven't even seen demos of it yet.

The next generation chipsets are both supposed to have a working lock. Don't know if it's true about the VIA one (as VIA has never, ever implemented a successful AGP/PCI lock). Also, i think one of the Abit K8 boards has a divider set up for the AGP and PCI, so that's just as good as a lock (although you have to set it manually, to the best ratio, but there are lots of ratios to pick from). Abit marketing also says that they will have an nForce 3 250 board out in May, which supposedly, has working locks.

I think Anandtech received a nf3-250 reference board, overclocked it, and verified that it had working locks.

Well I'll likley be building upon release of the R420 (since it comes out after the NV40), and I really don't want to wait for the immature PCI-E. So A64 seems best fit for me. Any estimates that these new chipsets will be out by this time?

The nF250 should defiently be out by that time, hopefully in larger quantities in the next few weeks, fingers crossed.

Originally posted by MemoryInAGarden
I think Anandtech received a nf3-250 reference board, overclocked it, and verified that it had working locks.

yeah, but if you read the article carefully, you'll find that the reference nf3-150 also has a working pci lock, and nvidia claims that a bios update will fix the lock issue on the retail boards

Originally posted by (cf)Eclipse