Anyone programming .Net/Visual Studio on a MB Pro 15/i7 2.0?

martinmsj

[H]ard|Gawd
I just plunked down 1900 on a MB PRO with upgraded matte screen. My stomach is just twisting realizing I just ordered this thing.

Simple enough I need want access to the mac platform but the logistics of using a mac mini don't cut it.

I'm still debating of canceling it and buying the cheapest 13inch and upgrading the ram and maybe an SSD (do the upgrades myself.) What kept me from the 13 incher was the damn screen. On a 14" I already can't stand the vertical resolution and going to a 13 inch one would suck. Not to mention I loathe glossy screens.

But 1200 vs 1900 is a lot to swallow. Let alone moving from my Asus C2D P8200. (Which was fast enough for my needs.)

I keep telling myself it's an investment but I feel sick to my stomach. (Ordered today, I can still cancel.)

Right now I'm a programmer/IT Consultant. I don't make as much as that sounds like. This would be used professional. The iphone/mac development is to further help me get paid more. (In addition to helping me practice more C++/C programming since all I do now is Java/.Net.)
I was at this for 12 hours yesterday (almost like buying a car.) This is all I could summarize.

13 2.3GHz MBP
1.) Cheapest.
2.) I already put up with the 14" screen on the Asus.
3.) I already put up with the glossy screen on the Asus although the MBP one is even more glossy. (Seriously WTF.)
4.) Better battery life under windows.
5.) Can afford a bigger SSD and Ram upgrade.

13. 2.7 MBP
1.) Very fast dual core should mean Windows 7 performance should be on par with P8200 Asus or better when working with Visual Studio/Eclipse. (When running both OS's.)
2.) Can afford a moderate SSD and Ram Upgrade.

15 2.0/Matte/HiRez Screen
1.) Large screen
2.) Won't be straining the eyes with a very reflective glossy screen.
3.) Dad is giving the cash (I'm paying him back 1k now, 900ish in two months) so I'm not going to go broke.