Attaching Bookshelves to Z-5500 Subwoofer

I'm thinking of replacing the two front satellites of my Z-5500 set with a pair of bookshelf speakers; is this possible?

Would you mind elaborating please?

I have little knowledge of audio equipment, and I mainly use these Z-5500s for gaming. However, occasionally when I want to listen to music on something other than my headphones, I want to use the Z-5500s but they completely fail at it. Do I need to look for 8ohm (I think that's what the Z-5500 satellite speakers are rated at) bookshelves which can handle a little over 62 watts so they aren't blown by the amplifier?

To be on the safe side you could go with speakers that have the same ohm rating, especially since you're not sure what the amp's tolerances are.

I wouldn't worry about matching watts too much though. It's not uncommon to to see speakers paired with amps that are twice as powerful, just don't max out the volume and you'll be ok.

it works fine if you dont listen super loud. i used some cheap pioneer speakers on my z680 till i decided to blow the logitec amp up a little.

this is right after i blew the amp up, which was followed by by the cheap onkyo.
Rears.jpg

in the end not a great difference in sound but a difference none the less. the top end is loads better but teh cross over is set hi (well over 100zh) so it still sounds a bit thin.

Thank you for your help, guys. I have a really old pair of Sony bookshelves in the loft, and I'm pretty sure they're utter crap. However, I was thinking I could just connect them up to see what it's like before I drop some cash on the new ones. Here's a photograph of the rear of the speaker:

Do you think it's worth a shot?

SJetski71, if I get a pair of speakers rated at say 80 watts, there wouldn't be any chance in anything blowing would there? I mean, the amplifier won't be able to handle this much anyway so it won't overload them, I don't think.