Best bang for the buck mobo w/SLI support?

Feileung

Limp Gawd
I'm about to pull the trigger on an Intel E8400, GTX26, 4GB RAM and new HD. I plan on overclocking a bit but I'm running an an air cooler (Scythe Ninja). I'm not looking to compete in benchmark battles. I mostly game on this machine.

Can anyone recommend a good motherboard given my needs? I'd like the option of SLI in the future although I'm not sure I'll ever actually do it.

Thanks.

You might have heard, that most Intel Nforce motherboards are quite unstable. I had one and I thought it was horrible.

But nevertheless, I heard some good stuff about EVGA's 750i board.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188026

I've never used it before, so I can't really say if the product is good or not. But I say stay away from the 780i series. Unless if you want to go to Core i7, thats a different story.

750i FTW from evga is a very good option you will get 2 full 16x lane vs standard 750i

750i FTW from evga is a very good option you will get 2 full 16x lane vs standard 750i

It's the only LGA775 SLI capable board I can recommend in good conscience. I've been through hell with 680is and 780is. The 750i FTW is /supposedly/ much more reliable and less troublesome.

I had the EVGA 750i SLI and absolutely hated it, or more accurately I hated nVidia for the way they dealt with the chipset support issues. Don't get me wrong, the EVGA 750i SLI FTW is an overclocking monster but it had certain quirks while overclocking that were due to a defect in the chipset. The 780i boards suffer from the same defect. This defect caused video corruption and system crashes that oddly enough presented themselves while the end user would watch streaming video of certain formats. This included DiVX, Quicktime, H.264, and even Youtube (FLV). Sounds odd right? Almost unbelievable, right? Do a google search on "750i video corruption" and you'll see what I mean.