Best non-Core I7 SLI motherboard

CJRP

Limp Gawd
So I'm totally new to SLI, but I would like to go dual GTX 280s.

My current system:

Q6600 at 3Ghz
4GB DDR2 800 Ballistix
Abit IP35-E
150GB Raptor
X-Fi Gamer
Corsair HX620 PSU

Things I already have ordered:
(2) GTX 280s
Corsair 1000w PSU

I game on a 19x12 native display, and will run graphics intense games (ie Crysis).

I wouldn't mind sticking with my Q6600, but my current motherboard does not support SLI. So I will be buying a new motherboard.

So here is my question:

Should I upgrade to Core I7 now, or stay with my Q6600 and get a new motherboard? The Core I7 route would involve a new CPU, HS&F, and DDR3 RAM. I wouldn't mind avoiding all of this extra cost.

If I decide to stick with my Q6600, which motherboard would you suggest? I hear horrible things about the Nvidia chipsets and I wouldn't mind staying away from them if possible or is Nvidia chipsets the only way to go (I hear either 790 or 750 is ok)?. Stability is a large concern, more than overclocking. Do you guys have any suggestions for a person in my situation?

Thank you in advance to those who can offer some insight.

750 sli is fine. 790 ultra is a real bull of an sli platform but still an expensive purchase. someone might bring up raid corruption issues with the 790, but i've had a trouble-free raptor raid0 on it since launch.

EVGA has a recertified 780i for only $134 on NewEgg: link

You can also get a EVGA 750i FTW for $139 after MIR: link

At this point, I wouldn't spend $200+ on an LGA775 mobo, but these two deals are excellent.

LGA775, Nvidia is the only way to get SLI support. Period, end of story.