Building a linux gaming server out of old pc...will this work?

Sobek

2[H]4U
I want to put my old Dell L733 to use. I want to turn it into a linux server to play Unreal Tournament 2004 (Invasion RPG) since it is the game I play the most online. I have already download and burned the disks for Fedora Core 4. This is my first time using linux and am wanting to learn more about it while also putting the PC to use. If it hadn't been for a recent PC Magazine article I probably never would have thought of using linux.
The Dell is a Pentium 3 @ 733mhz with 256mb ram. I'm going to use an unused Maxtor 60gig 7200 harddrive and I believe the CD burner still works at least as for reading disks. I have to get a new LAN card since I took the one that was in it and put it in my wife's PC. It has the crappy onboard Intel integrated graphics but for a server this doesn't matter. I just want to know if this will be sufficient to use as a game server for up to probably 12 people. I think that's about the most the P3 can handle but it may be less. Any imput is greatly appreciated.

What are the specs from Epic for a dedicated server? That should tell you everything you need to know.

It will work fine for lan. It will work fine for online server, provided you have enough UPLOAD speed from your broadband connection.

I've serched for the minimum server specs but have not found much. From what I have read online it should be ok adn I belive my upload speed from Medicom is pretty good. If anyone can tell me whether to choose Personal Desktop, Server, or Custom for the install choices for Fedora that would be helpful too. Thanks for your help and imput.

If you choose server in the FC4 install it doesn't automatically select a graphical environment. I would recommend doing Personal Desktop for now - you can always go back and install the server stuff as needed.