C compiler

ignitionxvi

Limp Gawd
Hey guys,

I'm learning to use C this summer and was wondering what compiler you would all recommend. I've never used one before so i really don't know what to look for. Thanks!

the compiler is completely unimportant at this stage. You can probably find a gcc port for Win32 or whatever your platform is -- just stick with something free for now. You probably will want to debug via cout rather than the debugger while you're starting, so that removes the only other compiler factor left (and even if not, you'll still have to learn whatever debugger it is from the ground up).

Your editor, on the other hand, is different. Bare minimum, find something that does syntax highlighting, and preferably supports many different languages. I use EditPlus, a lot of people recommend UltraEdit, and there are several others floating around in the various web design threads where people debate DreamWeaver versus hand-written code.

yeah, DJCPP is fine. And yes, you write the code in your editor (even notepad, in a pinch) and then run it through the compiler (and some other stages that are technically there as separate steps, but all get integrated into one command).

The thing with compilers, though, is that any standardized C/C++ compiler should correctly compile any standardized C/C++ program. There will be minor differences (for instance, an article I read recently discussed how Intel's compilers were best suited to floating-point operations, Visual C was good at small program sizes, and gcc tended to produce code with the most bloat since it lacked many optimizations for particular platforms), but you won't be able to notice them. That's why, at this point, the particular compiler doesn't matter.