C2D cpu + GTX260...weak link?

TheRapture

Supreme [H]ardness
I have been holding onto the same cpu/mobo for a couple years now, a dual core running at 3200mhz, and I have 8gm ram (see the sig). I play games at 1920x1080 with either no AA or 2x AA. Cod4, Cod WAW, a couple other minor games that are not graphic intensive (Q1, Q2, Q3).

Would it be ANY benefit at all to change cpu's to an overclocked quad core? I am not interested (yet) in getting an i7, of course I know that is somewhat faster.

Just that I don't see any benefit yet, since games are at most not really dual thread optimized, and I rarely see 100% cou loading while playing...

Chime in if you have gone from a dual core to a quad core, and if it really mattered in "real world" game play.

That cpu seems fine for gaming. If anything, get a better cooler and push it to 3.6Ghz. My GTX260 216 is paired with and [email protected] and can handle anything thrown at it @ 1680x1050. (4xAA+8 or 16Aniso.)
At that resolution though, I would definitely try the overclock first to see if it helps. From my readings on these forums, seems anything at or above the 1900x1080 the GTX280/285 is ideal for that resolution.

Every game you mentioned will only utilize two core's and would definitly scale with a higher overclock. On the other hand you could potentially see higher MINIMUM frame rate increase by having the other two cores handle O.S. task and antivirus, widgets,etc....... Really only games I have seen use all four cores and make a smoother game play are

Assasins creed eats quad cores
Farcry2 benifits greatly
Crysis Warhead could get away with a high clocked dual
Grid racing game eats them up
Dirt racing game is the absolute pinacle of quad core eating games :)
Supreme commander same as Dirt
UT3 see a huge increase especially if paired with physx levels on quad
Gears of war same as UT3
Medal of honor airborne UT3 engine
Mass effect same as UT3
Frontlines fuel of war this is a UT3 engine