can't authenticate with winxp PRO client to samba share

doh-nut

Supreme [H]ardness
I have a samba server on the LAN with no domain. just a workgroup.

-set up a user called 'dave' with password 'blah' on samba machine and on xp machine. same passwords on both.
-dave can successfully get into share when I'm logged in as dave in win xp

Heres the problem. when im not logged in as dave on the winxp computer, it brings up this when i attempt to get into the share:
guest.jpg

BUT, I thought that if i had this enabled:
Classic-login-for-shares.jpg

that i wouldn't get this greyed out guest login anymore? and that it would let me type in dave and 'blah', and send me on my way. this is not the case though

is this simply not possible? any help would be appreciated. I was thinking its more of a windows client problem, than a samba problem. but I really don't know for sure

I think that means that you will, by default login as the local account. Turn it off, and see if you get the option back. I think the setting being enabled forces it to log on as whatever local account you choose, thus not allowing you to change your username at the prompt.

I would have edited my last post but the server wasn't letting me...

Any way after reading my own post I found it to be confusing. To clarify: enabled this forces the login as the local user, not letting you change the user name.

Phaedrus said:
I would have edited my last post but the server wasn't letting me...

Any way after reading my own post I found it to be confusing. To clarify: enabled this forces the login as the local user, not letting you change the user name.

the other option is log in as guest only. which actually produces the same result :(