Case Fans

DuffMan72

Limp Gawd
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to cooling, so don't mind if I sound a bit stupid.

My CPU runs a little warm on full load, and with my case closed, it runs even warmer. So I decided to remove the side cases, which reduced the temperature by one or two degrees at most. The reason: I have no extra fans on my case, as there is no way to mount them, unless I mod the case (which I plan on doing). So I'm wondering how these case fans work. Do they blow air towards the computer, or do they just help suck the hot air out of the case?

You usualy see one 120mm or two 80mm fans on the lower front of a case sucking in air. To create crossflow, use one or two 80mm fans or a single 120mm fan at the upper rear sucking air back out.

Another 80mm, 92mm, or 120mm exhaust fan on top is becomeing popular, as it helps to remove the heat that builds up in the roof of the case.

Try to use 120mm fans wherever you can, they run quieter and give the same (or better) airflow.

What kind of tower do you have, and what fans where? We need to know so we can help you the best. :)

As Unknown-One says, generally cases have fans in front sucking air in, fans in back blowing air out, and fans on top blowing air out. I'm not sure about side fans, as I have none on my Lian-Li PC-71.

General Crespin said:
I'm not sure about side fans, as I have none on my Lian-Li PC-71.
Side fans offer interesting airflow patterns; for instance, you can set all of your fans as intakes (Front, rear, and top fans) and have one or two fans in the middle of the side of your case as the only source of exhausting air…but this only tends to make a positive change in larger cases where a “whirlpool” airflow pattern can form properly.

Smaller cases should stick with the front to back arrangement I mentioned in my last post, but if they have side fans they should be configured as intakes to draw in more air directly over the CPU or GPU.