C'mon guys...how about compiler tests!

BoB-O TiVo

Limp Gawd
Hey guys,

I love your reviews, but I'm a software developer. I'd love it if I could see comparisons on CPUs when compiling code. Pick your favorite open source project...Mozilla...Linux kernel...whatever. Just something that takes more than a minute or two should show the differences.

Thanks
BoB

I could do a full build of Paint.NET if you'd like :) Usually takes ~3 minutes to build and package up all the setup files on an X2 4800+. I have an X6800 here that seems quite happy at 3.46GHz.

rolo said:
I could do a full build of Paint.NET if you'd like :) Usually takes ~3 minutes to build and package up all the setup files on an X2 4800+. I have an X6800 here that seems quite happy at 3.46GHz.

Nice, I too would be curious to hear the results.

Full rebuild of Paint.NET v2.64:
Athlon X2 4800+ @ 2.4 GHz takes 2 minutes 40 seconds.

I'm in the process of copying everything over to the Conroe, and have to install VS2k5, etc. Give me a few minutes :)

BoB-O TiVo said:
Hey guys,

I love your reviews, but I'm a software developer. I'd love it if I could see comparisons on CPUs when compiling code. Pick your favorite open source project...Mozilla...Linux kernel...whatever. Just something that takes more than a minute or two should show the differences.

Thanks
BoB

QFT!

I'd love to see a freebsd make buildworld with -j3 -j4 -j5 etc and see what it scales up to!

Robstar said:
QFT!

I'd love to see a freebsd make buildworld with -j3 -j4 -j5 etc and see what it scales up to!
If I have time I'll throw BSD on a spare HD when I get my machine to see how it works.

But until then I just aquired a 133mhz p1 that I'm going to put 6.1-RELEASE on :)

Ok I finally got everything set up correctly, it took longer than I thought.

Athlon X2 4800+ @ 2.4 GHz takes 2 minutes 40 seconds
Core 2 Extreme X6800 @ 3.46 GHz: 2 minutes 10 seconds