Don't you wish you had classes like this?

kidicarus74

Limp Gawd
Update PICS ADDED 12/5!!!

Ok, little background info before the fun stuff: I'm currently a senior at the University of Missouri - Columbia (a.k.a. Mizzou) and I'm majoring in Computer Science and Computer Engineering. In order to graduate, each senior engineer must take a capstone class and complete a semester or year long project. Most people do things like making crappy video games via mods or writing a program to fix what's wrong with the registration system or building coding a microprocessor to do this or that (not all of them are crappy, just a majority since most don't want to put in any effort). My project is a little different...

Thru a grant to the university, i've been given a $15,000 budget to build the schools showcase multimedia entertainment and development server/workstation. I'm ordering the parts with the secretary of the department tomorrow morning, this is my project log. :D

Parts to be ordered (note: this has be designed, planned, and discussed with some of the best minds of my university over the past months since september, so i'm not just rushing out and dropping 12 grand on a whim):

-I Will DK8N Dual Socket 940 Server Motherboard
-Dual Opteron 246's
-4 gig (4x1 gig sticks) Corsair Low Latency ECC/Registered PC3200 RAM
-GeForce 6800 Ultra Dual DVI gfx card
-Blackmagic Decklink HD Pro Editing Capture card
-2x 74 gig WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA Hard Drives
-Adaptec 16 channel SATA RAID controller card
-16x Maxtor SATA II 300gig Hard drives
-Lian Li 2000V - Case
-I Star 400 x 400 watt redundant power supply
-2x Lite-On 16 DVD-RW DL Drives

i'm sure i'm forgetting something, but it's all on the PO and will hopefully be here friday, so there will definitely be pictures :D

Why not go SCSI over the Raptors?

Better speed and reliability.

Also, have you considered using the Matrix Parhelia?

the instructor really was set on a completely serial ata solution otherwise we would have....