Dual core Athlons in a SFF?

Add 'em

Limp Gawd
Let's assume AMD sticks with Socket 939 for dual core processors (which appears pretty likely) and I get an SN95G5 (which also is likely). Will the Shuttle be able to effectively cool the dual core CPU? Or might I and other SN95G5 owners have to look to third party cooling solutions?

Assuming the dual-cores don't give off a fuckton of heat, you should be OK. My SN95G5 stays pretty darn cool (at least as far as the 3500+ Winchester CPU is concerned) on the Mid fan setting. Keep in mind, however, that I have Cool 'n Quiet turned on (not much reason to disable it).

The heatsink comes pre-lapped and there's always Arctic Silver 5, so you'd really have to throw a lot of heat at the SOB to overpower it.

I've never put a heatsink on a CPU before (yes, I'm relatively new to building PCs. I didn't install my current processor). If the heatsink is pre-lapped as you say, does that mean I don't necessarily need the thermal compound?

Add 'em said:
I've never put a heatsink on a CPU before (yes, I'm relatively new to building PCs. I didn't install my current processor). If the heatsink is pre-lapped as you say, does that mean I don't necessarily need the thermal compound?

WRONG! Even the very best machine lapped HSF have small molecular sized pockets of air which will impeded the ability of the molecules of heat to be conducted to the HSF, greatly increase your tempatures. Heres what I mean.

Without Thermal compound
5ec42b881a130c83a5f9d13a06d29361.jpg

With Thermal Compound
2c5338d9ff25b26d945cb6288ba8431e.jpg

Purely speculative of course, but...

AMD is working on a new Athlon 64 stepping (refinement of current version). Among other new 'features' is a statement claiming significant increase in power efficiency (ie. less heat). It remains to be seen how 'significant' the power savings are, but I guarantee that this new 'stepping', and the power savings expected, is key to the success of the dual core chips.