EMC to NetApp SAN Migration

Burnout01

Limp Gawd
We are currently a EMC shop and looking at the possibility of moving to NetAPP. Anyone here have any experience moving from a EMC SAN to NetApp solution? Or does anyone have any experience with NetApp in general? Could you tell me any pluses and minuses about NetApp?

Thanks.

I have some NetApp experience. A few pluses:

-Same software on every filer head, so you can start small and scale big and you don't have to re-learn anything. This is a huge advantage.
-Deduplication is a featured included with every filer
-Extremely end-user friendly, designed so that an end user can do 100% of everything on their own without any requirements for trained conulstants
-You can have a SAN up and running in "minutes" not "hours"
-Excellent support
-Excellent user community
-Good pricing
-Excellent VMware integration, with NetApp having a huge portion of SAN sales where VMware is used, especially in 100% virtualized environments.

NetApp has re-bundled a lot of their software to be MUCH more affordable. This has been done over the past few years. I purchased a unit back in 05 and just purchased a smaller one for a company a few months ago. The difference in software was in the 10's of thousands in savings. Crazy.

Their software is excellent in the functionality it provides. They have also introduced a GUI for manager SANs and clusters sometime in the past few years. It offers similar feature parity to the very basic WebGUI, but it doesn't let you do everything. You still need to drop to CLI to do more advanced stuff, but the CLI is very easy to use IMO.

Don't know if this is true or not, but I had a NetApp engeineer tell me that HP uses more NetApp internally than HP storage

Thank you for that input. I was hoping to hear from someone on a neutral site talk positive about NetApp. The Sales guys always do a good job about making the product sound good.