FAH as a service on Linux

well, everything seemed to install fine. the documentation is meh, translation is understandable but poor (i think this guy's first language is actually estonian?)

i'm new to linux, so idk if it will actually start running by itself on reboot, so until i have to reboot, it's running now in its own terminal window...

i also dont' know if on reboot, if it starts, it will start in the background or if it will retain a visible terminal window for itself

we shall see...

Please let us know as it would like help me on a few boxen that always do a reboot by themselves everytime I leave town for more than a day, and mage's stuff sounds like I actually would have to know how to do "real" linux :D

ok I am lazy :p

yeah it didn't work on first reboot.

but, it can run as a service, all i have to do is type ./foldingathome/folding start

and that starts it as a service

but i don't know how to make it run on startup... any help anyone?

morpheus6d9 said:
edit your init.d file in the etc folder
sorry, that didn't make any sense

what "etc" folder?
EDIT: okay, found my etc folder but i only have an "inittab" file, not "initd," looking around in the "inittab" file now

okay i'm lost. help, please. i can't believe ubuntu doesn't have an easy graphical way of adding services (or making your own or whatever)

I tried getting it to start as a honest-to-goodness "service" in SuSE as well, with no success. Although I'm chalking up the problem to user error, I found an easy workaround was to start the F@H client from my ~/.profile file which runs automatically on login.

I just added these lines to the end of my ~/.profile
cd .fah
./FAH502-Linux.exe > fah.log&
cd ..