FiringSquad tests Vista vs XP

I was running vista 64 with no problems in games until I installed the latest driver for my g25 wheel, it completely hosed vista, had to format. I put xp back on.

Not sure if that was a logitech problem or what but it was enough to make me not want to run vista until it becomes more stable. Previous to my new build and clean install of vista I had been running xp for 2 years with no problems.

I was running vista 64 with no problems in games until I installed the latest driver for my g25 wheel, it completely hosed vista, had to format. I put xp back on.

Not sure if that was a logitech problem or what but it was enough to make me not want to run vista until it becomes more stable. Previous to my new build and clean install of vista I had been running xp for 2 years with no problems.

until vista becomes more stable? that's clearly logitech's fault...

Obviously it is the fault of a bad driver by Logitech, but I guess he's too eager to hop on the "LOL M$ LOL LOL" bandwagon to think about it at all and therefore denies himself the use of a better OS.

EDIT: As far as the article goes, this is what people have been saying... but no one would believe them ;)... excellent review.

Interesting, I ordered Vista 64 with my latest batch of upgrades but was planning to install XP until SP1. Maybe I'll just go with Vista 64 from the start when everything arrives, although I remember it having an annoying alt-tab lock with LOTR: Online that didn't occur in XP. I wonder if it's worth it to put up with little annoyances like that which are sure to crop up.

Honestly, the only thing REALLY keeping my from Vista is the lack of hardware audio acceleration. The performance is there, as this article shows. And the new effects can definitely be compelling. BUT...