Heavy Traffic Wireless

Lich

Limp Gawd
So after seeing a brand new router slow internet network traffic to a crawl I got a hold of D-Link sales/tech support. Basically, these home class routers are dying (yes, some of them have physically died on us) as a result of the high volume of network traffic we keep stuffing through them. Doesn't surprise me. But I'm a web developer and not a network guru so I have to make do with what i'm told and try to fix it as i'm the only computer guy here.

Here's the situation: We have anywhere between 10 and 20 computers on the network (depending on how many laptops are there). There are lots of large files (photoshop, corel, etc) constantly being opened, saved, and transfered across the network at any given time. The guy from D-Link suggested this

http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=0&pid=480

The problem is that the cheapest I can get it before shipping is $311 (retail is $500). And that's a little too much to spring on these guys right now. The bane of a family-run business I guess. I need any and all suggestions for something that can handle this kind of load and won't break the bank on it.

I don't need VPN, firewall, dual WAN, and all that crap. We just need a home router type on steroids that can deal with large files, all the time, and not time out on us or have the router lock up.

KaosDG said:
Is there an absolute *need* for wireless in this situation?

For the most part, yes. There's places around where it would be an absolute bitch to try and run cable to, plus there's laptops and stuff that are moved all over the place. All things considered, I would absolutely love to get rid of the wireless mess and just run cable even to the hard to reach places and just be done with it. That would make things so much easier, but i'm making do with what I can.