Help me choose upgrade parts

evanisthecoastie

Supreme [H]ardness
Ok, upgrading from my sig, heres what i have so far on the way:

intel x6800 + Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme
evga 8800 ultra
coolermaster 690 case
2gigs ddr2 800 ram

I will be using this new computer for primarily games, specifically crysis.

Now, the question is which motherboard should i go for? I want SLI, and while looking through the boards most of them dont run at x16 in both slots. Is there a major performance loss/gain with 16x both slots?

I will also be modding the 690 case, i have never done a case mod before, but i think this will be a simple first start, i own a dremel with the appropriate cutting tools, does anyone have a simple guide on how to put a window on the side?

Get a new power supply. The Gamexstream is a FSP Episilon based PSU that has out of spec ripple, or voltage fluctuations, at high loads that will damage your PC parts over time. Granted your current system is fine I think BUT since you're going SLI Ultras with the new system I definitely recommending getting a better PSU. Any of these PSUs will run your new system fine:
Silverstone SST-ST75ZF Zeus 750W Power Supply - $160
Corsair TX750 750W PSU - $160
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad - $180

Also, ditch the Extreme CPU.They're not worth the $1000 price tag especially since you can OC an E6750 well past X6800 speeds. Also, the Crysis developers have said that it's best to go with a quad-core CPU rather than a faster dual-core. So go with the Q6600.

Mobo-wise, only mobos based on the 650i and 680i chipsets support SLI. As far as I know , those chipsets do provide full x16 in both slots. I could be wrong about since I don't usually keep up on SLI mobos. Though I really doubt the lower bandwidth will actually lower your performance.

And which RAM are you getting?

As for guides on how to put a window on a case, just google case window guides and you'll see a ton of guides on that.