I don't understand reviews sometimes: Razer Piranha

Citizen86

Supreme [H]ardness
Over at TechPowerUp!, they just reviewed the Razer Piranha gaming headset. Now, I'm no expert in headsets, I just bought my Koss Sb-45's and love them, and they were only $30. Now this headset from Razer is $80, the reviewer says they are uncomfortable for extended periods of time, are crap for music, only have adequate sound, directional isn't the greatest... etc etc etc. Not all too many great things to say about it, but then proceeds to give it an 8/10, lists all these lame things that are good about it (Volume control, etc etc), and gives it a "recommended". WTF?!?!?!

I really wish [H] would get into some of these types of reviews, maybe hire Spaceman, because I just gave a quick read to this review and was expecting maybe a 6/10 just from what he was saying. *sigh*

Koss made the first(i think) commercially available stereo headphones. People think they suck ( and some models do) but they got it right with that headset. I regret that I tipped some of my teamates off to them b/c I can't sneak up on any of them now lol.

Razer sucks. They are pretty much the Bose of Gaming. All marketing and no meat for their audio. Mice are ok but come on guys pretty weak efforts in the sound dept.

All in the marketing an nothing in quality, just like a car with 5K$ mods on the body and 0$ on the engine :rolleyes:

It may be possible that some of these sites are getting these samples for free. They may not want to paint the product in a negative light (and therefore negate any future chance of getting anymore free samples). Not saying TechPowerUp! does it, but just in general.

It's costly to do audio component reviews the right way. To review headsets/headphones correctly, you'd need, at the very least, a Neumann KU100 or similar and a decent audio analyzer (and the right mentality and experience for the subjective portion).