I just bought my first Mac

unixadm

Gawd
Well I don't know what I'm thinking, but it was sort of an impulse buy. I ordered a Mac Mini Core Duo last night from Amazon. I picked up the Logitech S530 cordless desktop and 2gb of G.Skill memory for it.

I'll most likely swap the processor out for a T2600 Yonah and install a Seagate Momentus 100gb 7200rpm drive. I also ordered the miniStack V2 so that I can install a 400 or 500gb drive in it.

I went to Fry's Electronics last night and spent about 45 minutes trying out OS X and liked it. Mind you I had no idea what I was doing, but since I'm a Unix administrator with over 10 years of experience I figured I can't really be doing anything that wrong.:)

Wish me luck. I hope to have the Mini and memory by Wednesday and the miniStack V2 by late in the week.

The mini is killer. Too bad about the lame graphics card in it (the only thing preventing me from getting one).

Congrats! I got my first Powerbook back in November and it's been a pleasant experience so far. I think you'll enjoy the Tiger operating system and the iLife suite., and of course the ease of use.

Good job :). I'm sure you'll enjoy this machine, and it has almost limitless mod possibilities when it reaches the end of it's life (think CarPC etc.)

I didn't know that you could swap out the cpu in the mini. That's very interesting. Is it just regular a regular 775 slot?

alphaone said:
I didn't know that you could swap out the cpu in the mini. That's very interesting. Is it just regular a regular 775 slot?

I'm pretty sure it is. I know that people have not only upgraded to faster Core Duos, but people with engineering samples have dropped in Core 2 Duo chips and they've worked properly!

You do have to "dig" through the Mac mini to get to the processor (you have to remove the outer shell, then the optical and hard drives), but it's an interesting option if CPU speed is the most important factor.

Sick man, congrats!