I want to start learning webapp development. Where do I start?

finalgt

Supreme [H]ardness
Maybe my Google Fu is weak, but every search I've tried invariably leads to articles from sites like about.com from 8 years ago about how to make an Angelfire family album in HTML.

It's starting to become professionally desirable for me to jump into programming, specifically of the dynamic sort. I know some PHP, but that's about the limit of my knowledge currently. I don't even know what language I should start with, let alone where I should be reading up on whatever language is the best to start with. Any recommendations?

(Grooveshark is a good example of the sort of thing that I'm trying to go for, here)

Your probably going to get lots of suggestions for PHP and for sure PHP is a great language if you choose go that route.

So I'm going to go against the grain and offer up an alternative which is Java/JSP. (Full disclosure: I am a Java developer professionally). Using JSP would probably not be as straight forward or easy to get started with as PHP would, but it is a powerful option.

JSP (JavaServer Pages is a language based on Java used for creating Java web applications. In order to use JSP, you need a web server capable of rendering the JSP into something a web browser can understand. A popular choice off the top of my head is Apache Tomcat (the latest version of which can be downloaded here). Tomcat also requires a Java to run which you can get from Oracle/SUN here. You will also need a text editor (I recommend Notepad++ if your using Windows).

Once you have all the pieces you can use online tutorials (such as: JSP Tutorial) to get you started.

In learning JSP, you would also be learning elements of the Java programming language. Anything that can or has been written in Java can be used by JSP in addition.