Just bought a 8G First Gen Iphone - Need help

IceWeasel

[H]ard|Gawd
I was wondering if there was a quick way to wipe this clean (i.e. format to factory defaults). I bought this from a rather ... "interesting" person who has a lot of music/internet stuff that I'd like to clean off.

It's already updated to 2.0, or so he said. (Not sure if that matters, I'm a total Iphone newbie!)

Any help you can give is appreciated! :D Also, if you know of any good Iphone sites, I'd be much obliged! I'm wanting to find out what my capabilities are w/o AT&Ts service plans.. Like whether I can do pre-paid cards and use wi-fi for internet usage, etc...

*Edit* - Also, can anyone confirm that $150 for this was a steal on my end? I'm pretty sure these things go for like $300+ on eBay..

As long as it works and you have your own SIM card ready to go, then yes, $150 was a "deal" in some respects. It's the original one sooo... $150 is ok considering how much the originals actually cost, but compared to the features and cost of the iPhone 3G these days, it's a toss up.

Using iTunes should make it relatively easy to restore the iPhone to a pristine factory condition and update it to the latest firmware in the process.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1414

That Apple Support KB article is relevant even with iTunes 8 which is new, and everything you need to accomplish is done with iTunes, start to finish.

Go to 2.1 ASAP! Everything from 2.0 to even 2.0.2 was some of the buggiest software I've ever used (it seemed like they wanted the general public to be beta testers). 2.1 seemed to iron most of these issues out so get there ASAP.

$150 is a steal, sometimes the old ones go for higher prices than the 3G due to high demand/anticipation of people selling them off.

Get 2.1 on that thing asap.

Wifi shouldn't be a problem, and if you want to use T-mobile data there is a fix for that as well. You can do everything but visual voicemail on T-mobile if I remember correctly.