laser jet printer vs. ink jet cartridge

dslrjunky

2[H]4U
ok I have question for you guys..

I'm a visiting nurse, I submit nurses notes every 2 weeks, this past couple of months i've been loaded and constantly visit between 10-13 patients everyday this equates to 10-13 paper works daily. I use my own form a PDF form that I created so I don't have to write my assesments. This is pretty basic B/W form nothing fancy. I have all-in-one printer HP PSC 1510 inks cost me around $12 after staples coupon on recycle cartridge.

Now my question is I recently noticed that I've been buying inks after 60-70 printouts and started to look at laser printers costs are about sub $200 and toners are about the same price but was rated at 25K prints 5% (fill) what does that mean? and is that a good way to go seeing I'm submitting between 200+ printouts every month (not factoring the errors and casual personal printing) also can i do something more on my current printer to squeeze out more printouts from it? (i dont buy colored ink anymore).

Finally can you suggest what printer that can meet my needs also I like fast printout too

I have my eyes on these:

HP AIO 7680

or

Brother MFC-7840W Laser Flatbed All-in-One

I could get one of them for 170+ taxes

If you do a lot of printing - especially black and white - then a laser printer is the way to go. In the long run consumables should cost less and need replacing less often. You'll also have better print quality and the toner on the page doesn't smear or run even if you get the paper wet.

I just picked up a laser printer to solve this kind of problem.

The last inkjet i had got a clogged print head, and no amount of cleaning could unclog it so the printer was trashed.

The next printer I got was cheap, but pissed me off when I would spent $25 a pop getting ink cartridges that run out in short order.