Lens for event photography.

Empty_Quarter

2[H]4U
I'll open admit that I have no experience in event and wedding photography. I primarly shoot cityscapes, landscapes, architecture, and love finicking with long exposures. Having said that, I've always wanted to at least give myself a shot at event photography. I never knew where to start, and getting my foot in the door without a portfolio to show for it is a little tough.

A friend of mine would like me to photograph his engagement party, in a small banquet hall with just close family and friends. I said yes, figured this was a chance to try it out, and refused any payment he insisted (because even though he likes my cityscape portfolio, I have zero experience in portraits and hence, nothing to show for it).

So I have two lenses that would be ideal for this, a tamron 17-50, and a 50mm. I would like to keep the 50 on at all times at ignore the tamron all together. What say you? I dont really want to spend time switching through lenses all the time, so if you were to pick one, which would it be? 17-50 for the flexibility, or 50 for the bokeh/low light? I only have one body.

Other than that, if I do use the 50, Would you still recommend a flash, or could I get away with using lens wide open? This would be your typical banquet hall, so your typical lighting. Do let me know, because if I do, I'd have to rent one stat and experiment quick with it (I also have no experience with using a flash).

Please advise. TY!

If you have a full frame camera, then the 24-70 f2.8 is a great lens. If you are on a crop camera, I find that the 24-70mm isn't wide enough indoors, the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 is a good lens, the Canon 17-55 f2.8 is a better focusing lens.

I have a Sigma 17-50 f2.8 and it is decent, if I had the money, I would spend a bit more on the Canon 17-55 f2.8. I don't feel comfortable with a prime indoors where you are going to be moving around a lot, especially not a 50mm.