LGA 1336 mATX mobos?

epblash

n00b
Right now I'm a college student with a 680i SLI mobo and a 8800 Ultra and am starting to look around at the possibility of upgrading, not now obviously - I still love my machine, but maybe a year or a year and half from now.

The computer mentioned above is in a Antec 900 case, I bought the case for the phenomenal airflow but ended up hating it as a very install-unfriendly case. In order to get my Antec 900 case to college, I put it in it's original Styrofoam packaging, in the original box, and had UPS ship it - and it came with the heatsink snapped off the processor. And of course, in order to properly fix it, I'd have to take everything out of the case, put everything back in, and classes were starting.... so I did the best I could and ended up having the Antec 900 lay flat on my desk in a cramped dorm room. It was a massive headache, but I kinda got past it.

For my next build, I really want to avoid these kinds of issues with shipping while still having an expandable desktop machine. Besides schlepping the computer back and forth from college, I also plan to do some study abroad work, and I can't see myself without a gaming computer for 6 months at a time. This means at least at first glance that I'm looking at a mATX mobo in a case that can fit easily in carry-on luggage.

However, I haven't seen any X58 chipset mobos work their way down to the mATX spot yet nor anything with even DDR3 memory - and I don't want to upgrade merely in size. Does anyone know when Core i7 stuff is going to work its way down to smaller form-factors? I mostly just play EVE and CSS, so I don't need something uber-powerful, but I like my machines to 1) last, 2) be stabler than rock, and 3) be able to well-perform the occasional high-powered game that catches my interest (which, this season happened to be Far Cry 2), so I prefer components with a bit of speed behind them anyways.

btw its 1366.. a far cry from 1337

"stabler than rock" lmfao