Lighting

1st Sgt. Burke

Limp Gawd
Hey, as a new modder I got a question for an upcomign mod Im doing..itll be my first...

Anyway as a non electrician I hope what i want to do is possible and perhaps someone knows of an incredibly easy way to do it.

I just got 2 CC Lights with dual inverters...one red, one green. For the mod Im doing I want to beable to switch the colors from red to green. I was hopping to do this with an external toggle switch. (Ican get those at my work - Hardware store)

How would i go about hooking them up with the one switch choosing which ligth will run at the moment?

well im a noobie too, and i might be wrong, but im just thinking about it, and i think a toggle switch works on, or off, so if u used a toggle switch, it would either be red, or green, but there wouldnt be an off switch, unless u turn off the computer, im just saying, maybe if u didnt think about that, but other than that, i think u would just have to get one of those switches with the three thingies on the back, and i think u would put the power in the big center one, and the two colors on each side.

Heh...yeah I didnt think about the on-off thing. I was thinking..just now...it would be fine to auto boot which every color is flipped at the time (which would be red unless I left it on green) The thign is I dont know how to wire anyhting...Thats where i need help. Itll be easier when they get ehre and I can look at the molex connectors and everyhtign and see where I have to splice in the toggle switch. The thign is I want it to be safe....so i want to do it right...not half-arsed and guesstimation ;)

You need a SPDT(single pole, double through) switch. Put your 12VDC line into the switch, then put an inverter on each of the poles. There are on-off-on switches, where the middle is off, but I don't know if you'd be able to find those at a hardware store.