Looking for X99 Mobo Suggestions

tenjuna

Limp Gawd
I am contemplating a system upgrade to the X99 platform, and am having some difficulty deciding which way to go with the motherboard and sound. I have been using EVGA and Asus motherboards for the past 10+ years, but the offerings I have found by them seem mediocre at best, based on the reviews and comments by other users. I have also heard that sound cards in general have issues on the X99 platform, so I am thinking of just using on board sound.

Having said that, I am currently thinking:

Asus X99-A II
On board sound
i7-6800K
32GB G.SKILL TridentZ 3200
EVGA 1080 FTW
Samsung 850 EVO M.2 1TB

I am upgrading from:

Asus P8Z77-V
SB X-Fi Titanium
i7-3770K
16GB Crucial Ballistix 1800
EVGA 1080 FTW
Crucial B200 1TB

Can anyone suggest any tweaks or changes? I mainly game in WoW, CSGO, and Overwatch, but also do some light video editing and ripping discs for my Plex server.

Thanks

Cain

I have the X99A-II and it is a good board... has everything we need and nothing we dont! If your interested I have an Asrock X99 Killer X 3.1 for sale in just about brand new condition with maybe 10hrs of use on it.. PM me if interested

I have an X99-Pro, and had it since release. It's been rock-solid with a 5820k, [email protected], and 3000Mhz Kingston RAM. The X99-A is pretty much the same MB minus a few bells and whistles.

I did try a Sound Blaster Z when I got it. When it worked, it was fine. About every 5th boot, the card wouldn't be detected on boot, requiring a restart to get it working. The onboard sound was OK, but I eventually went with a Sound Blaster G5 (external DAC) for my speakers and headphones, and it's been perfect.

I will check out the G5, thanks. I have heard a lot of negatives about the Z card, so I think I will be skipping it in any case.

I absolutely will never use an Asrock ever again. Every time I have bought one it has been nothing but problems.

X99A-II is a solid board.