MacBook - 1.83 or 2.0ghz? & Financing Question

DanMattia

Limp Gawd
Well, I've been using a Windows PC since 1999, and I need a laptop for school/work, so I figured I'd get a MacBook. I have a few questions, first.

I'm unsure as to which MacBook to get: 1.83ghz or 2.0ghz Core Duo? I'm not going to be doing very intensive work on it, and I'm unsure as to whether or not the small difference in processor speed will be noticeable or not. I'll be using OpenOffice/internet/IM/email, and probably use some of the iLife stuff, so the speed doesn't make a big difference to me unless performance will be severely hindered.

Also, the only way I can get this is through the Apple financing. $26/mo for the MacBook 1.83 Core Duo is affordable for me. However, how is the Apple financing? Will I end up getting pounded by the interest, and will I have to pay anything upfront (tax, etc.)? How's that work?

Thank you so much and I apologise for my ignorance. I appreciate any sort of reply, however, and thank you for your time.

you won't notice much difference between those two processors. where you want to spend the extra money is RAM. but don't buy it through apple. they gouge you on RAM upgrades. find a good deal for it online. it's insanely simple to upgrade the new MacBooks and MacBook Pros.

BoySetsFire said:
you won't notice much difference between those two processors. where you want to spend the extra money is RAM. but don't buy it through apple. they gouge you on RAM upgrades. find a good deal for it online. it's insanely simple to upgrade the new MacBooks and MacBook Pros.

Yeah, I double-checked the RAM on Newegg and for MacBook-compatible RAM it'll cost me ~$40 for another stick of 512mb of RAM. Apple was insanely overpriced on that. I won't void the warranty if I install the RAM myself, though, will I?

Thanks for the clarification on the processor speed differences, as well.