Max Payne Stuttering...very annoying.

so are u running another application on the background, AntiVirus, torrent, et cetera?
It could be a incompatibility issue with your X2 processor, that happens

I've played it before on this rig, but it played fine. Granted, that was 2 years ago...

I've reinstalled Windows 2 times now...and I'm at a loss.

Currently, I have no background apps except Steam opened. I don't have the original disc anymore...so I cannot say that it's just the Steam Version that's giving me trouble.

Did you update your drivers from the last time it worked fine?
There might be an issue with newer drivers, it usually happens with older games.

Thanks for replying...both of you!

I'm still using the drivers that came with the card from 2005. I cannot remember the exact version number...but I haven't upgraded them yet.

I'm on my second install of Windows in the last 2 days...and I've been very careful about what I'm doing.

I got the stuttering down a tad...it only happens every 5 min or so...instead of every 10 seconds. However, it still is doing it.

I'm just puzzled...it's very odd.

I've even reverted back to stock speeds.

If you've got a multi cpu system, or dual/quad-core, try setting the cpu affinity (this can sometimes cure hickups in older games). When the game is running, do ctrl+alt+del to open up the Task Manager, right click the process under processes and click "Set Processor Affinity" and unselect all but 1 cpu.

If you've got a multi cpu system, or dual/quad-core, try setting the cpu affinity (this can sometimes cure hickups in older games). When the game is running, do ctrl+alt+del to open up the Task Manager, right click the process under processes and click "Set Processor Affinity" and unselect all but 1 cpu.
I just bought the games off Steam a few weeks ago I havent have any issues running Max Payne 1 or 2 with a dual core cpu.