Megahalem Fan and case fan recommendation

maverick0817

Limp Gawd
Looking for a fan recommendation for a push/pull setup on a megahalem. I am also looking for case fan recommendations, I have a cooler master rc-690. I think it would hold 3x120mm up top, plenty elsewhere. Would it also be worth it to get a fan controller? Thanks for the help.

I use a Scythe GentleTyphoon 1850rpm on my Cogage True Spirit. It's inaudible in the case. If you want to go push pull you could go with the 1150 or 1450rpm models.

Two 1600rpm Scythe S-Flex are the way to go. For case fans, I'm a big fan of Scythe Slipstreams.

Two 1600rpm Scythe S-Flex are the way to go. For case fans, I'm a big fan of Scythe Slipstreams.

I was trying to decide between these two fans. The Slip Stream 1600rpm's have more cfm (88 cfm), but do they lack the static air pressure to keep up with the S-Flex (at 64cfm) on a CPU cooler? I was thinking about the Thermalright IFX-14 for less restrictive air flow to match these fans, but if the slipstreams aren't going to work, I might as well go with cheaper options.

Last edited:
I'm using Slipstreams as CPU fans myself. I also heard everyone say that they suck for coolers because of the lower static pressure, so I got two 1600rpm S-Flex to compare, and I didn't notice much of a difference, maybe a degree or two at most(which could be caused by outside variables such as room temps). If you're using two fans, I don't think S.A.P. is nearly as important as CFM/Noise.

When I compared the slipstream to the s-flex on my TRUE, they were within 1C-2C of each other at the same RPM. However, the slipstream was louder, or at least the sound signature was more noticeable. As a case fan the slipstream doesn't have that problem, so I'm thinking because of the lack of static pressure there's just more blowback and turbulence.

My 2c.

http://www.overclock.net/air-cooling/609636-megahalems-push-pull-25mm-fan-tests.html