Most stable / solid external hard drive? internal fans help ;)

MoreDents

Limp Gawd
External hard drives last much longer if there's an internal fan but companies do not include a fan because it's too noisy! What gives?! :confused:

I'm looking for a SOLID & STABLE hard drive (about 500GB) for backing up data. I'm a digital artist and my files are my life :D

Any recommendations? Would the only way to have a fan in my external hard drive is to build my own?

Thanks

Have you thought about backing up to Amazon S3 ??

Completely Silent for one :p and if you are an artist it would give you a perfect base to create a dynamic collection of your artwork using Wordpress. Aside from that it's dirt cheap, scalable storage.

External hard drives last much longer if there's an internal fan but companies do not include a fan because it's too noisy! What gives?! :confused:

I'm looking for a SOLID & STABLE hard drive (about 500GB) for backing up data. I'm a digital artist and my files are my life :D

Any recommendations? Would the only way to have a fan in my external hard drive is to build my own?

Thanks

If this data is important to you, then you should have a minimum of 2 backup drives, and alternate which one you use to do the current backup to. That way you are NOT overwriting your last good backup with your current backup.

The most common time to find problems with a hard drive is when you go to do a backup. That is normally the only time when you read all of your data. If you are in the middle of backing up a file and hit a read error, then you just trashed your last good copy of the file if you only have 1 backup drive.