My Q6600 Story

I wanted to tell the story of my CPU, a chip that throughout constant abuse, mishaps, and over a year of moderately high overclocks, still powers my machine and amazes me to this day. The system I have now is the first one I ever built myself, and over the last year, my Q6600 has been the most reliable, unfaltering component of them all. It all started in late 2006, when I first got the idea to build a machine myself.

After doing a lot of lengthy research about which parts to get and balancing the desire to get the best parts as well as the financial constraints of being a working student, I got the list together. I wanted to go with a quad core cpu because although dual cores were much cheaper, everyone talking about future proofing convinced me that this would be the way to go. They were right, and I'm glad I didn't skimp. The mobo that I decided on being my Q6600's home was originally a Maximus Formula SE that I bought at Fry's. However, the way that I built my system was piece by piece, gradually, so for about a month, I had nothing but a case, a mobo, and my cpu, while I saved up money for the next component on the list. During this time, I convinced myself that taking the SLI route would be another excellent way to make my money go farther, and so returned the Maximus and swapped it for an EVGA 680i A1 edition board, which is currently a vegetable and hangs on my bedroom wall like some kind of gay post modern techno art. More about that later.