Need help with PB purchase

Inside_line

Limp Gawd
Hey guys, this will be my first mac, so I have a few questions for the guru's. I am familiar with them since I do work on them (Bioinformatics). I'm looking at the 15".

1) Is the difference between the G4 1.5 and 1.67 significant? Judgine by PC cpus it wouldnt be worth the ~$200 difference in price, but I am not an expert on the G4.

2) Is there anyone with speculation on the pb G5? Will this new cpu completely outpace my G4 and be the standard by which the new apps are written?

3) The Radeon 9700 is available with 128 memory, and had this been a pc I would jump at it. But being a mac... is there really any use for this extra memory? Again, at ~$100 it seems like a luxury. I looked up some popular pc games I play and nothing is available for the mac... I see Doom and WoW, neither of which I want to play on a mac. I play some eq2, and that would be nice, but I just don't see that in the cards anywhere.

1.) The processor speed difference probably isnt very noticeable.

2.) Theyll be here when they get here.

3.) According to the apple store the only model that has upgradable vram is the faster superdrive model. Even if you dont game the vram will add longevity to the machine.

In answer to question 2:B, the G4 often outperforms a slightly higher clocked G5 in "standard" things. For 3D rendering and such, scientific stuff, imaging, audio, video, etc, the G5 is often much better, but for office type applications, and compiling, the G4 is often quite a bit better, clock for clock. So waiting around for a PowerBook G5 might not really be worth it. If you need that kind of power, chances are you'll need a desktop anyhow.