.Net Dynamically Adding Controls

Chameleoki

Limp Gawd
Okay, here's my issue. I'm an intermediate programmer but have come upon a situation that I could use some input from some better programmers.

I am building an web-based inventory application in VB.Net (.Net 2.0). I need to build a form that will ask for a count of the inventory. Here is where it gets tricky. There will be different inventory items for different people. There might be up to 200 items. Each item might have different quantities (i.e. how many cases, jars, and oz do you have?)

I'm thinking the only way to do this is to dynamically add the controls to the form. I'm thinking of having a hidden field with the current amount and only updating if there is a difference in quanties from what they entered and the database to save round trips.

With 200 items x 2 or 3 quantities on a webpage, this seems like it's asking for trouble. I guess I will need to break it up into sections or groups but I'm just wondering if anyone has a magic bullet that I might be missing!

Thanks!

You have at least 3 options available, with a LOT of other options depending on how much filtering you can get the user to do to make your life easier. Also, you didn't state what type of database you are using, although with .NET it doesn't really matter. Where necessary, my ideas will assume that Microsoft SQL Server is utilized:

1) Display a ListView with the title/identifier for each. When the record is selected display the details in a common area for editing/deletion/whatever.

2) Same as #1, but use a TreeView and organize the data in a 2-deep or 3-deep tree, depending on what type of pre-sorting you can do on the user's behalf.