New Copyright Argument

Tim

Supreme [H]ardness
In a further attempt to alienate their customers, the music industry has sued a man for selling promotional labels online. Honestly I can understand the idea of being up in arms over selling items that say specifically, "Not for Resale." The part where it gets stupid is here:

Augusto had testified that if a CD he was auctioning didn't sell, he would give it away or throw it into the garbage. "Both are unauthorized distributions," Frackman wrote in a court brief.

Well I guess from now on, when you give someone a cd or you receive a cd (for free) from someone, you need to generate a sales receipt for your records. LOL. This is so amazingly stupid.

To quote starwars
"the more the empire tightens their grasp, the more systems will slip through their fingers"
:D

You've got to be fucking kidding me! I'm no lawyer, so I"m sure I'm wrong, but IMO, UMG should have to show that it is likely that said disk was stolen before the court bothers to hear the case. There are exceptions, but for the most part, people who buy Promos are buying them as a collectible (or in some cases because the song is only available as a promo), not because it's a cheap way to get music. Unless the band is unknown, you'll pay MORE for an album or single if it's labeled as a Promo.

Seriously, are they going after every record store that sells Promos by the Beatles, Stones, Pink Floyd, or Nirvana? For that matter, if you take it to it's logical conclusion, shouldn't every sale of every CD require that same documentation? After all, couldn't that Missy Elliott CD have been stolen directly from the label? I realize that there's a difference between Promos and retail CDs....but the Not For Resale stamp is meant to prevent the retail sale of said music, not to prevent collectors from buying and selling those CDs, 45s and LPs.